Recent Activity ▲
2 days agoBig plans for 25th anniversary Targa event and year
5 days agoHyundai Motorsport fine-tunes its WRC line-up for 2019
11 days agoFans get their wish, as Østberg to return
Latest News ▲
Mon, 17 Dec 2018 - Big plans for 25th anniversary Targa event and year

It’s been a big year for New Zealand marathon motorsport event organiser the Ultimate Rally Group (URG). But you won’t find company CEO and Targa/Silver Fern Rally Event Director Peter Martin taking a break any time soon.

Martin has just announced the dates and basic details for his two big 2019 Targa events and is also well-advanced on plans for the next (biennial) NZ Silver Fern Rally in 2020.

“It’s just the name of the game,” Martin said on Monday. “We’re getting more and more ...    more...

Fri, 14 Dec 2018 - Hyundai Motorsport fine-tunes its WRC line-up for 2019
Hyundai Motorsport has announced that Spaniard Dani Sordo and Frenchman Sébastien Loeb will compete for the team in the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship (WRC)
Nine-time WRC champion Loeb has signed a two-year contract that will see him contest six rounds of the 2019 season in a Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC alongside co-driver Daniel Elena
Sordo will remain a Hyundai Motorsport driver for the sixth consecutive season, joining co-driver Carlos del Barrio for eight events.    more...
Sat, 8 Dec 2018 - Fans get their wish, as Østberg to return

Rally fans have got their wish, with World Rally Championship star, Mads Østberg, confirmed as the international guest at next year’s Otago Classic Rally.

For the second year running, Østberg will drive a Rossendale Rally Team Ford Escort RS1800 as he attempts to win the coveted event for the first time.

The Norwegian has just completed a hugely successful season for the factory Citroen Racing squad in the WRC.

Despite only a limited program, 31-year old Østberg outperformed his team-mates to finish as the team’s leading ...    more...

Sun, 2 Dec 2018 - Emphatic Silver Fern Rally win completes 'unfinished business' for Robinson and Collis

Winning this year’s NZ Silver Fern Rally – and doing so in such emphatic style – was like completing unfinished business for top British Historic rally driver Matthew Robinson and co-driver Sam Collis.

The pair crossed the official finish line of the eight-day 3,571km marathon from Hamilton to Rotorua this afternoon (Sat Dec 01) just over four minutes ahead of fellow Ford Escort Mk2 pair Roger Chilman and Max Freeman with a third British par, Roger Tysoe and co-driver Paul Morris, locking out the podium for Ford in third place,

Robinson and Collis started ...    more...

Sat, 1 Dec 2018 - Tysoe hangs on to final podium spot on the way to Rotorua finish line

A late event charge on Thursday saw UK historic marathon rally specialist Roger Tysoe and co-driver Paul Morris wrest the final podium spot in this year’s NZ Silver Fern Rally off Kiwi pair Brent Rawstron and Ian McKee on.

But any hope Tysoe had of further closing the gap on event leader Matthew Robinson and co-driver Sam Collis, and multiple Thursday stage winner Roger Chilman and his co-driver Max Freeman who are currently running first and second were – if not dashed, at least put on hold until tomorrow – through the final stage today, ...    more...

Thu, 29 Nov 2018 - Chilman wins the day but can't wrest rally lead from Robinson

A hard-charging Roger Chilman and co-driver Max Freeman (Ford Escort Mk 2) dominated the sixth day of 2018 NZ Silver Fern Rally action in the northern Wairarapa and southern Hawke’s Bay today.

Yet, after topping the time sheets in five of the six stages, the pair managed to take less than two minutes out of the handsome 10 minute-plus lead compatriots – and fellow Ford Escort pair – Matthew Robinson and his co-driver Sam Collis enjoyed at the start of the day.

Harrogate, Yorkshire, pair Robinson and Collis, won the day’s first stage – ...    more...

Recent Events ▲
Silver Fern Historic
1United KingdomMatthew Robinson15:09:14.3
2United KingdomRoger Chilman+4:17.9
3United KingdomSimon Tysoe+28:18.0
4New ZealandBrent Rawstron+33:13.6
5United KingdomAndrew Siddall+43:52.9
6New ZealandBrad McFarlane+52:55.5
7United KingdomPhil Squires+1:32:40.6
8South AfricaGeoff Bell+1:59:11.1
9New ZealandKevin Blackley+2:03:56.8
10KenyaFrank Tundo+2:29:41.5
11United KingdomJohn Midgley+2:36:47.0
12New ZealandKeith Stewart+2:51:08.5
13AustraliaJohn Hills+3:01:21.2
14New ZealandPatrick Dillon+3:32:13.0
15United KingdomBarry Jordan+3:43:30.7
16New ZealandSteve Cox+4:33:43.6
17New ZealandPeter Scharmach+5:29:51.9
18New ZealandCampbell Wright+10:08:56.9
19New ZealandDennis Green+11:23:30.5
Silver Fern Challenge
1New ZealandMike Goldsbury15:36:57.2
2New ZealandDave Strong+1:19.6
3New ZealandBrent Taylor+8:27.5
4New ZealandChris Ramsay+38:59.9
5New ZealandCharlie Evans+10:17:46.3
1New ZealandAnthony Jones2:02:38.0
2New ZealandLindsay Meredith+5:08.9
3New ZealandBrynley Smith+5:33.0
4New ZealandRobbie Stokes+6:47.7
5New ZealandDaniel Alexander+7:09.3
6New ZealandMark McKenzie+8:11.1
7New ZealandNathan Tough+9:53.5
8New ZealandEthan O'Hagan+13:38.5
9New ZealandAndrew Treseder+16:46.0
10New ZealandKevin Preest+21:53.8
11New ZealandRay Chubb+22:59.2
12New ZealandAmy Keighley+30:30.9
13New ZealandJohn Coker+38:11.7
2018 Points ▼
Competitor History
Events Archive ▼